Betty Crocker Hamburger Helper No Longer Gluten Free

Gluten Free Hamburger HelperThis past Sunday, I posted on my Hold The Gluten Facebook Page that three of the Betty Crocker Hamburger Helpers which are currently gluten free (Cheesy Hashbrown, Asian Helper Chicken Fried Rice and Asian Helper Beef Fried Rice) will soon no longer be gluten free.

Dominic Alcocer of General Mills alerted me to this impending change.  According to Dominic,

This is due to a change in manufacturing facilities, and although gluten will not be used as an ingredient in any of the three products, we will no longer be able to guarantee that they will be free from cross-contamination.

Logistically, at the shelf, we are making efforts to minimize overlap and confusion.  You may, however find both gluten-free and gluten containing product on the shelf at the same time while the new product works its way through the distribution system. Our recommendation (which of course you don’t need to be reminded of) is to read the information on the ingredient list. The callout “May Contain Wheat“ will communicate which product has the potential of containing gluten.

While this decision is necessary for the Helpers line of product, it doesn’t change, in any way, General Mills’ overall commitment to the gluten-free community which goes all the way to the top of our organization.   We understand that keeping track of ingredient changes in products is one of the greatest challenges in living gluten freely, and would like to request your help to communicate this change to your readers to maximize awareness and keep the gluten free community informed.

As much as I’m disappointed that Hamburger Helper will no longer be gluten free (the more gluten free mainstream foods, the better), I give General Mills credit for communicating this change via so many avenues.  Even us gluten free “veterans” sometimes tend to grab and go with foods we know are GF (totally guilty!).

If you can’t get enough Gluten Free Hamburger Helper, stock up now!  Just be sure to look for the Gluten Free label!

 

6 Replies to “Betty Crocker Hamburger Helper No Longer Gluten Free”

  1. Wow, thanks for letting me know. I noticed a big change when I eat gluten free and it was something that cheap for eat. I guess like you said I need to stock up.

  2. Thank you for letting me know, I know that I have really have liked it because it is something cheap that I can eat.

  3. Sometimes finding gluten free can be a problem. Thank goodness, I healed enough that I no longer have to watch the gluten as close as I did at one point.

    I had candida and became very alllergic to gluten. I have done a lot of cleansing and diets and probiotics. Finally I can again eat gluten, although I don’t eat white or enriched flour.

    Would love to have you drop by my blog and say hello. I have a gluten free blog list that I will add your blog to if you are interested. Stop by and let me know. Thanks Terry

  4. Thank you for letting us know this. Gluten is a protein composite that appears in foods processed from wheat and related species, including barley and rye. It is something cheap food that we I can eat. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Your posts are really informative and healthy! Now I have one more site to bookmark because of this. Stocking up would be a bit hard for me though since I don’t have much of a big space to accommodate all the stuff

Comments are closed.