Hold The Gluten Podcast 10 – Avoiding Cross Contamination

The latest episode of my Hold The Gluten Podcast is now live!

Episode 10 “Avoiding Cross Contamination” Features:

  • Listener Sally (newly diagnosed) asks about avoiding cross contamination in the home.
  • Toaster vs. Toaster Oven (purchase extra rack & tray for GF foods).
  • Separate container of spreads, condiments (i.e. butter, mayo, cream cheese, jelly, peanut butter).
  • Non-food items such as sifters, baking sheets, & wooden utensils.
  • Did you know?  Flour dust can stay airborne for hours after use.
  • Storage containers for gluten free food.
  • Label, label, label!
  • Bread makers and deep fryers.

Read the blog. Listen to the podcast. Educate yourself.

Rock on Celiacs!

Click the player below to listen to the show! Subscribe to the podcast using iTunes (or whatever media player you use) at http://feeds.feedburner.com/htgpodcast

3 Replies to “Hold The Gluten Podcast 10 – Avoiding Cross Contamination”

  1. I have a gluten intolerance but not celiac disease but I just realized this past week that I need to be more careful with the gluten. I learned that ‘wheat free’ does not mean gluten free 😛 (duh! lol). I bought a cereal that said wheat free but apparently it had gluten…I was sick all week after eating it :(. I’ve definitely learned my lesson!

  2. I had no idea that cross contamination was such a danger with regards to gluten intolerance- I’ll definitely be taking more care in the future! And Sophie, I can definitely sympathise with your unsuccessful attempts to buy gluten free foods. I have experienced the same issues in the past and have come to the conclusion that food labelling needs to be changed to ensure adequate clarity. Often, ingredients information is in small print and difficult to find, which makes shopping something of a challenge. Saying this, I am finding an increasingly better choice of gluten free foods in the supermarket which is surely a step in the right direction!

  3. Yea Sophie, a lot of people learn that the hard way. Gluten = wheat, oat, barley or rye. So wheat free doesn’t necessarily mean gluten free…unfortunately. Wish it was that easy.

Comments are closed.